Inauguration overview

Schedule of events
Inauguration planning committee
Former Presidents

Schedule of events
Thursday, September 17, 2009
5:00 p.m. ASSMU student vs. faculty, staff & trustee softball game
dinner will be served on site
Softball field
Friday, September 18, 2009
10:00 a.m. Celebratory Mass
by invitation only
Abbey Church
11:30 a.m. Inaugural luncheon
by invitation only
Norman Worthington Conference Center
1:00 p.m. Robing for academic procession Trautman Student Union Building
2:00 p.m. Installation ceremony
Hal & Inge Marcus Pavilion
3:30 p.m. Reception Norman Worthington Conference Center

Inauguration planning committee

Trustee members
Patrick Rants, Chair
Brother Boniface Lazzari, O.S.B., ’67
Staff members

Ann Adams
Deidre Eaton ’07
Stephen McGlone
Faculty member
Katia Shkurkin
Student member
Angela Shirley
Alumni member
Anne Guttman ’91
Wife of the president
Kathleen Heynderickx

Former presidents of Saint Martin's

1955-1959 Fr. Damian Glenn, OSB
1959-1964 Fr. Dunstan Curtis, OSB
1964-1971 Fr. Michael Feeney, OSB
1971-1975 Fr. Matthew Naumes
1975-1980 Fr. John Scott, OSB
1980-1984 Dr. John Ishii
1984-2005 Dr. David Spangler
2005-2007 Dr. Douglas Astolfi
2007-2009 Dr. David Spangler*


Prior to 1955, the abbot of Saint Martin’s Abbey was considered president. Since 1955, the abbot has served as chancellor.

*Served as interim president due to the loss of appointed president Bryan M. Johnston.