Contact us

College of Arts and Sciences
5000 Abbey Way SE, OM 329
Lacey, WA 98503-7500
360-438-4564

Eric Apfelstadt, dean
EApfelstadt@stmartin.edu

Aaron Coby, associate dean
ACoby@stmartin.edu

Laura Hoff, executive assistant
LHoff@stmartin.edu

Kimberly Wilson, administrative assistant
KWilson@stmartin.edu

Faculty and staff

Dr. Bonnie Amende, mathematics

Bonnie Amende
Associate professor, mathematics
Phone: 360-438-4550
Office: Old Main 413
Email: bamende@stmartin.edu

View Bonnie Amende's bio


Dr. Olivia Archibald, English

Olivia Archibald
Professor and acting chair, English
Phone: 360-438-4357
Office: O'Grady U-3
Email: oarchibald@stmartin.edu

View Olivia Archibald's bio


Dr. Tiffany Artime, psychology

Tiffany Artime
Assistant professor, psychology
Phone: 360-412-6101
Office: Old Main 337
Email: tartime@stmartin.edu

View Tiffany Artime's bio


Dr. Darrell Axtell, chemistry

Darrell Axtell
Associate professor, chemistry, and chair, natural sciences
Phone: 360-438-4313
Office: Old Main 105
Email: daxtell@stmartin.edu

View Darrell Axtell's bio


Dr. Brian Barnes, history

Brian Barnes
Assistant professor, history
Phone: 360-438-4352
Office: Old Main 300
Email: bbarnes@stmartin.edu

View Brian Barnes' bio


Dr. Todd Barosky, English

Todd Barosky
Assistant professor, English
Phone: 360-412-6153
Office: Old Main 364
Email: tbarosky@stmartin.edu

View Todd Barosky's bio


Gordon Bellevue, lab instructor

Gordon Bellevue
Lab instructor, physics
Office: Old Main 110
Email: gbellevue@stmartin.edu

View Gordon Bellevue's bio


Dr. Jeff Birkenstein, English

Jeff Birkenstein
Associate professor and chair, English
Phone: 360-486-8846
Office: Old Main 347
Email: jbirkenstein@stmartin.edu

View Jeff Birkenstein's bio


Darrell Born

Darrell Born
Associate professor, music, and chair, fine arts
Phone: 360-438-4506
Office: Kreielsheimer Hall
Email: dborn@stmartin.edu

View Darrell Born's bio


Dr. Michael Butler, psychology

Michael Butler
Associate professor and chair, psychology
Phone: 360-438-4355
Office: Old Main 301
Email: mbutler@stmartin.edu

View Michael Butler's bio


Dr. Rex Casillas, history

Rex Casillas
Associate professor, history, and chair, history and political science
Phone: 360-438-4347
Office: Old Main 303
Email: casillas@stmartin.edu

View Rex Casillas' bio


Dr. Tam Dinh, social work

Julia McCord Chavez
Assistant professor, English
Phone: 360-412-6132
Office: Old Main 312A
Email: jchavez@stmartin.edu

View Julia McCord Chavez's bio


Dr. Aaron Coby, biology

Aaron Coby
Associate professor, biology
Phone: 360-486-8867
Office: Old Main 331
Email: acoby@stmartin.edu

View Aaron Coby's bio


Thomas Deming, art

Thomas Deming
Adjunct professor, art
Email: tdeming@stmartin.edu

View Thomas Deming's bio


Dr. Tam Dinh, social work

Tam Dinh
Assistant professor and director of field practicum, social work
Phone: 360-412-6150
Office: Old Main 349A
Email: tdinh@stmartin.edu

View Tam Dinh's bio


Dr. Bonnie Amende, mathematics

Rebecca Edwards
Visiting professor, music
Phone: 360-412-6130
Office: Old Main 321
Email: redwards@stmartin.edu

View Rebecca Edwards' bio


Dr. Steve Fulton, biology

Steve Fulton
Associate professor, biology
Phone: 360-438-4384
Office: Old Main 405
Email: sfulton@stmartin.edu

View Steve Fulton's bio


Zhiqi Gao, world languages

Zhiqi Gao
Senior lecturer I, world languages
Email: zgao@stmartin.edu

View Zhiqi Gao's bio


Dr. Irina Gendelman, society and social justice

Irina Gendelman
Associate professor of communication/instructional development, society and social justice
Phone: 360-486-8826
Office: O'Grady Library
Email: igendelman@stmartin.edu

View Irina Gendelman's bio


Dr. Aaron Goings, history

Aaron Goings
Assistant professor, history
Phone: 360-438-4406
Office: Old Main 319
Email: agoings@stmartin.edu

View Aaron Goings' bio


Dr. Mary Jo Hartman, biology

Mary Jo Hartman
Associate professor, biology
Phone: 360-438-4452
Office: Old Main 403
Email: mhartman@stmartin.edu

View Mary Jo Hartman's bio


Dr. Robert Hauhart, criminal justice

Robert Hauhart
Professor, criminal justice
Phone: 360-438-4525
Office: Old Main 315
Email: rhauhart@stmartin.edu

View Robert Hauhart's bio


Dr. David Hlavsa, theatre arts

David Hlavsa
Professor, theatre arts, and director, interdisciplinary studies
Phone: 360-438-4345
Office: Old Main 343
Email: hlavsa_d@stmartin.edu

View David Hlavsa's bio


Arati Kaza, laboratory manager

Arati Kaza
Laboratory manager, natural sciences
Phone: 360-438-4574
Office: Old Main 103
Email: akaza@stmartin.edu

View Arati Kaza's bio


Father Gerard Kirsch, history

Fr. Gerard Kirsch, O.S.B.
Assistant professor, history
Phone: 360-438-4349
Office: Old Main 361
Email: fr_gerard@stmartin.edu

View Fr. Gerard Kirsch's bio


Dr. Victor Kogan

Victor Kogan
Professor, criminal justice and sociology, and chair, society and social justice
Phone: 360-438-4348
Office: Old Main 307
Email: vkogan@stmartin.edu

View Victor Kogan's bio


Nathalie Kuroiwa-Lewis

Nathalie Kuroiwa-Lewis
Associate professor, English
Phone: 360-438-4533
Office: O'Grady L-3
Email: nkuroiwalewis@stmartin.edu

View Nathalie Kuroiwa-Lewis' bio


Richard Langill

Richard Langill
Professor, history and political science
Phone: 360-438-4588
Office: Old Main 333
Email: rlangill@stmartin.edu

View Richard Langill's bio


Br. Boniface V. Lazzari

Br. Boniface V. Lazzari, O.S.B.
Associate professor, Spanish, and chair, world languages
Phone: 360-438-4476
Office: Old Main 339

View Br. Boniface Lazzari's bio


Dr. Kyu Lee, computer science

Kyu Lee
Professor, computer science
Phone: 360-688-2602
Office: Cebula 103B
Email: klee@stmartin.edu

View Kyu Lee's bio


Joe Mailhot, mathematics

Joe Mailhot
Associate professor, mathematics, and chair, math and computer science
Phone: 360-438-4353
Office: Old Main 411
Email: jmailhot@stmartin.edu

View Joe Mailhot's bio


Fr. Kilian Malvey, English and religious studies

Fr. Kilian J. Malvey, O.S.B.
Professor, English and religious studies
Phone: 360-438-4342
Office: Old Main 361
Email: fr_kilian@stmartin.edu

View Fr. Kilian Malvey's bio


Teresa Marbut

Teresa Marbut
Senior lecturer II, women's studies
Phone: 360-412-6109
Office: Old Main 416
Email: tmarbut@stmartin.edu

View Teresa Marbut's bio


Terry McAdam, criminal justice

Terry McAdam
Adjunct professor, criminal justice
Email: tmcadam@stmartin.edu

View Terence McAdam's bio


Kathleen McKain

Kathleen McKain
Associate professor, French
Phone: 360-438-4337
Office: Old Main 363
Email: kmckain@stmartin.edu

View Kathleen McKain's bio


Stephen X. Mead

Stephen X. Mead
Professor, English, and chair, religious studies
Phone: 360-438-4336
Office: Old Main 312B
Email: smead@stmartin.edu

View Stephen Mead's bio


Dr. Greg Milligan, chemistry

Greg Milligan
Associate professor, chemistry
Phone: 360-438-4314
Office: Old Main 103
Email: gmilligan@stmartin.edu

View Greg Milligan's bio


Shawn Newman, J.D.

Shawn Newman
Adjunct professor, legal studies
Email: newmanlaw@comcast.net

View Shawn Newman's bio


Dr. Jeremy Newton, English

Jeremy Newton
Assistant professor, psychology
Phone: 360-412-6133
Office: Old Main 345
Email: jnewton@stmartin.edu

View Jeremy Newton's bio


Dr. Margaret Olney, biology

Margaret Olney
Associate professor, biology
Phone: 360-438-4327
Office: Old Main 407
Email: molney@stmartin.edu

View Margaret Olney's bio


Keri Olsen, women's studies

Keri Olsen
Adjunct professor, women's studies
Email: kolsen@stmartin.edu

View Keri Olsen's bio


Dr. Jamie Olson, English

Jamie Olson
Associate professor, English
Phone: 360-438-4302
Office: Old Main 352
Email: jolson@stmartin.edu

View Jamie Olson's bio


Dr. Carol Overdeep, mathematics

Carol Overdeep
Associate professor, mathematics
Phone: 360-438-4378
Office: Old Main 429
Email: coverdeep@stmartin.edu

View Carol Overdeep's bio


Dr. Stephen Parker, physics

Stephen Parker
Assistant professor, physics
Phone: 360-438-4363
Office: Old Main 110A
Email: sparker@stmartin.edu

View Stephen Parker's bio


Dr. Katherine Porter, mathematics

Katherine Porter
Associate professor, mathematics
Phone: 360-438-4312
Office: Old Main 409
Email: kporter@stmartin.edu

View Katherine Porter's bio


Father David Pratt, philosophy

Fr. David Pratt
Assistant professor, philosophy
Phone: 360-438-4309
Office: Old Main 373
Email: david.pratt@stmartin.edu

View Fr. David Pratt's bio


Dr. David Price, sociology and cultural anthropology

David Price
Professor, sociology and cultural anthropology
Phone: 360-438-4295
Office: Old Main 309
Email: dprice@stmartin.edu

View David Price's bio


Chiyo Sanada, Japanese

Chiyo Sanada
Senior lecturer I, Japanese
Email: csanada@stmartin.edu

View Chiyo Sanada's bio


Fr. George Seidel, O.S.B., philosophy

Fr. George Seidel, O.S.B.
Professor and chair, philosophy
Phone: 360-438-4416
Office: Old Main 373
Email: gseidel@stmartin.edu

View Fr. George Seidel's bio


Dr. Katya Shkurkin, community services, social work

Katya Shkurkin
Professor and director, community services, social work
Phone: 360-438-4385
Office: Old Main 305A
Email: kshkurkin@stmartin.edu

View Katya Shkurkin's bio


Dr. Arwyn Smalley, chemistry

Arwyn Smalley
Associate professor, chemistry
Phone: 360-923-8707
Office: Old Main 403
Email: asmalley@stmartin.edu

View Arwyn Smalley's bio


Molly E. Smith

Molly E. Smith
Provost/Vice President for academic affairs; professor, English
Phone: 360-438-4301
Office: Old Main 269
Email: msmith@stmartin.edu

View Molly E. Smith's bio


Dr. Roger Snider, history and polital science

Roger Snider
Associate professor, history and political science
Phone: 360-438-4346
Office: Old Main 311
Email: rsnider@stmartin.edu

View Roger Snider's bio


Dr. Sheila Steiner, psychology

Sheila Steiner
Professor, psychology
Phone: 360-923-8724
Office: Old Main 368
Email: ssteiner@stmartin.edu

View Sheila Steiner's bio


Dr. Anne Sulton, visiting professor, criminal justice

Anne Sulton
Visiting associate professor, criminal justice
Phone: 360-412-6103
Office: Old Main 349
Email: asulton@stmartin.edu

View Anne Sulton's bio


Dr. David Suter, religious studies

David Suter
Professor, religious studies
Phone: 360-438-4360
Office: Old Main 366
Email: dsuter@stmartin.edu

View David Suter's bio


Sister Laura Swan, religious studies

Sister Laura Swan
Adjunct professor, religious studies
Email: lswan@stmartin.edu

View Sister Laura Swan's bio


David Tempel, laboratory instructor

David Tempel
laboratory instructor, chemistry
Email: dtempel@stmartin.edu

View David Tempel's bio


John Weiss, physics

John Weiss
Assistant professor, physics
Phone: 360-412-6102
Office: Old Main 110B
Email: jweiss@stmartin.edu

View John Weiss' bio


Dr. Ian Werrett, religious studies

Ian Werrett
Associate professor, religious studies
Phone: 360-438-4290
Office: Old Main 365
Email: iwerrett@stmartin.edu

View Ian Werrett's bio


Teresa Winstead, sociology and cultural anthropology

Teresa Winstead
Visiting assistant professor, sociology and cultural anthropology
Phone: 360-412-6131
Office: Old Main 321
Email: twinstead@stmartin.edu

View Teresa Winstead's bio


Dr. Tom Woodruff

Tom Woodruff
Visiting assistant professor, psychology
Phone: 360-438-4301
Office: Old Main 341
Email: twoodruff@stmartin.edu

View Tom Woodruff's bio