"I felt fully prepared for my new job as an administrator"

-Mike Velasquez, alumni and principal of Avanti High School

Our campus


Graduate Studies

Email
gradstudies@stmartin.edu

Telephone
360-412-6142

Physical location
438 Old Main

Mailing address
Graduate Studies
5000 Abbey Way SE
Lacey, WA 98503

Office hours
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Monday - Friday


Faculty and staff


School admininistrator certification homeAdmission requirementsHow to applyTuition and feesFinancial aid and scholarshipsDegree requirementsProgram scheduleFaculty and staffFAQ


Linda Maier
Associate professor, School administration program director
B.A., Calvin College, 1977; M.Ed., Western Washington University, 1981; Principal Certification, Western Washington University, 1988; Ed.D., Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, University of Washington, 2011. Dr. Maier has extensive experience as a teacher in K-12 schools and an instructor and administrator in community colleges; additionally Dr. Maier has years of experience in writing, procuring, and administering federal and state grants; developing new workforce programs; and conducting research regarding effective online education. Dr. Maier is the Director of the School Administration Program. Image of Linda Maier
lmaier@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-486-8831
Office: OM 466

Fumie Hashimoto
Professor, MED director
B.A. Eastern Oregon State University, 1992; M.Ed. in bilingual education/ESL curriculum development method and multicultural education, 1993; Ph.D. in educational leadership and counseling psychology, Washington State University, 1997. Hashimoto’s expertise includes social studies methods, diversity, education law, qualitative/quantitative research practices, and introduction to education.
fhashimoto@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-438-4330
Office: OM 463

Kathleen Allen
Associate professor
B.S. Oregon State University, 1985; M.S. Portland State University, 1996; Ed.D., George Fox University, 2004. Allen’s expertise is in reading, cognition, spelling and educational leadership.
kallen@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-438-4501
Office: OM 471

Huabin Chen
Professor
B.Ed. Shanghai Teachers' University, 1981; M. Ed., Idaho State University, 1989; Ph.D., Indiana University, 1994. Chen has expertise in the areas of math and science methods, educational technology and environmental science education.
hchen@stmartin.edu
Phone: 360-438-4344
Office: OM 468

Anne Gentle
Associate professor
B.A.E. Pacific Lutheran University 1959; M.A.E. ibid., 1968; Ph.D. Columbia Pacific University, 1989. Gentle has an extensive background in teaching, counseling, administration, and program development. She is coordinator of the transition to teaching program.
agentle@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-438-4566
Office: OM 477

Belinda Hill
Associate professor
B.S. Clemson University, 1977; M.Ed., Saint Martin’s College, 1986; Ph.D., University of Washington, 1999. Hill’s expertise is in early childhood education, technology in education, computer hardware and software use, curriculum and instruction.
belinda@stmartin.edu
Phone: 360-438-4315
Office: OM 473

Leslie Huff
Assistant professor
B.A. University of Washington 1999 (International Studies ); M.A. Eastern Washington University 2005 (English-TESOL); Ph.D. Washington State University 2008 (Education - Language and Literacy Education). Huff’s expertise includes ELL teaching methods, computer assisted language learning, technology-enhanced education, and qualitative research methods. She teaches language acquisition, socio-cultural linguistics, trends and issues in ESL, and arts and movement integration.
lhuff@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-438-4507
Office: OM 465

Cynthia Petersen
Professor
B. A. Pacific Lutheran University, 1977; M. A., ibid., 1984; Ed.D., University of San Francisco, 1989. Petersen is director of special education programs for the University and is a specialist in inclusionary programs, learning styles and at-risk students.
cpetersen@stmartin.edu
Phone: 360-438-4549
Office: OM 461

Eileen Reilich
Associate professor
B.S. University of Idaho, 1980; Ph.D., Washington State University, 1999. Reilich's specialties are in science, math, administration, and curriculum and instruction.
ereilich@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-438-4418
Office: OM 469

Mina Ringenbach
Assistant professor
B.A. The Evergreen State College, 1987; M.A. Saint Martin's University, 1991; ESA Certification Saint Martin's University, 1991. Image of Mina Ringenbach
mringenbach@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-438-4503
Office: OM 464

Maureen Siera
Associate professor
B.A. Maryville College, Maryville, Tennessee, 1972; M.S. University of Tennessee, 1974; Ph.D. Oklahoma State University, 1989. Siera's expertise is in reading literacy and curriculum and instruction.
msiera@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-438-4520
Office: OM 470

Steve Siera
Associate professor, associate dean, MIT director
B.S. Maryville College, Maryville, Tennessee, 1970; M.S. University of Tennessee, 1974; Ph.D., New Mexico State University, 1984. Siera's expertise is in traditional and alternative assessment, evaluation, statistics and educational reform. He is associate dean and the director of the MIT and professional certification programs.
ssiera@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-438-4589
Office: OM 470

Lou Therrell
Associate professor
B. A. Florida State University, 1960; M. A., Appalachian State University, 1969; Ed.S., University of Georgia, 1971. Therrell's expertise is in reading literacy, reading, language arts and social studies methods. She is the education division's director of field experiences.
therrell@stmartin.edu
Phone:360-438-4335
Office: OM 467

Dan Windisch
Professor
B. A. Western Washington University, 1970; M. S.Ed., Old Dominion University, 1974; Ed.D., Washington State University, 1983. Windisch is director of the master's in education's guidance and school counseling strand. His specialty is school counseling.
dwindisch@stmartin.edu
Phone: 360-438-4503
Office: 464

Staff

Faye Barnes
Placement officer
fbarnes@stmartin.edu
Phone: 360-438-4530
Room: 477

Image of Trevor Frederick Trevor Frederick
Placement officer
tfrederick@stmartin.edu
Phone: 360-438-4530
Room: 477

Master's in Teaching Bailey Craft Bailey Craft
Executive assistant to the
dean of education

Phone: 360-438-4333
Room: 476
Email: education@stmartin.edu

Fort Lewis Extension Campus:

Image of Mary Snyder Mary Snyder
Program manager—teacher certification
Phone: 253-964-7392
Room: JBLM Main Extension Campus
Email: msnyder@stmartin.edu

Centralia Extension Campus:

Image of Carla Jacobs Carla Jacobs
Centralia program manager
Phone: 360-736-9391, ext. 414
Room: Centralia Extension
Centralia Community College
Washington Hall, Room 219
Email: cjacobs@stmartin.edu

The Office of Graduate Studies

Graduate studies home