Saint Martin's University president appointed to the NWCCU

August 26, 2009

Lacey, Washington – Saint Martin’s University president, Dr. Roy F. Heynderickx, has recently been appointed to the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU). President Heynderickx will serve on the Board of Commissioners and as Chair of the Annual Report on Finance and Enrollment (ARFE) Committee.

The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) is an independent, nonprofit membership organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) as the regional authority on educational quality and institutional effectiveness of higher education institutions in the seven-state Northwest region of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. The Commission oversees regional accreditation for 163 institutions. Its decision-making body consists of up to twenty-six Commissioners who represent the public and the diversity of higher education institutions within the Northwest region.

Said President Heynderickx, “As a new president, I am very pleased to be a part of the Commission. I really value the work that the Commission is doing.”

In addition to the NWCCU appointment, President Heynderickx has also recently joined the Board of Trustees at the Olympia Tumwater Foundation and the Association of Washington Business (AWB) board.

Saint Martin’s University is an independent four-year, Catholic, coeducational university located on a 380-acre wooded campus in Lacey, Washington. Established in 1895 by the Catholic Order of Saint Benedict, the University is one of 18 Benedictine colleges and universities in the United States and Canada, and the only one west of the Rocky Mountains. Saint Martin’s University prepares students for successful lives through its 21 majors and six graduate programs spanning the liberal arts, business, education and engineering. Saint Martin’s welcomes 1,250 student from many ethnic and religious backgrounds to its main campus, and 650 more to its five extension campuses located at Fort Lewis Army Post, McChord Air Force Base, Olympic College, Centralia College, and Tacoma Community College.

For additional information

Genevieve Canceko Chan
Director of Communications & Marketing